Burnt Sugar

by Avni Doshi

A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Deborah Levy, Jenny Offill and Diana Evans 'Acerbic, full of wit and cool intelligence, but also brilliantly poetic and passionate - every sentence is a coiled spring and each psychological portrait burns itself into the mind. I couldn't put it down' Olivia Sudjic, author of Exposure and Sympathy 'Crystalline, surgical, compulsively readable. An examination of toxic relationships and the ties that bind us' Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti In her youth, Tara was wild. She abandoned her loveless marriage to join an ashram, endured a brief stint as a beggar (mostly to spite her affluent parents), and spent years chasing after a dishevelled, homeless 'artist' - all with her young child in tow. Now she is forgetting things, mixing up her maid's wages and leaving the gas on all night, and her grown-up daughter is faced with the task of caring for a woman who never cared for her. This is a love story and a story about betrayal. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter. Sharp as a blade and laced with caustic wit, Burnt Sugar unpicks the slippery, choking cord of memory and myth that binds two women together, making and unmaking them endlessly. 'Poignant and economical, it speaks of motherhood and memory, trauma and truth-searching, love and the language for it' Vogue India

ISBN: 9780241441510

€ 17.99  Save €0.07 (RRP €18.06)

In Stock.

Usually despatched in 2-5 working days.

Date of Publication: 30/07/2020

  
Cover of Burnt Sugar - Avni Doshi - 9780241441510Hardback

Burnt Sugar also appears in these Categories: